Daily Archives: 28 February, 2009

Leaving Korea this weekend

I’ve only got a day or so left in Korea, so this will be my last post for SafKorea. Unfortunately I haven’t found anyone to keep this blog updated while I’m travelling, so it’s going to be pretty dead from here on. Sad, but true.

I just wanted to say thanks to all those people who helped me put all this information on the internet, and all the people who visited the site and found it useful. As of today I’ve had just under 13,000 hits on this site, which I think is not bad considering that there are less than 2,000 South Africans teaching English in Korea. At least, that’s as far as I know.

It’s been a tough year here, but a really good one. I’ve met a lot of great people, and done some interesting things. The one thing that has stood out to me is how amazing the South Africans here in Korea are. All the Saffers I met are really intelligent, wonderful people who love SA, and there’s a great sense of unity, despite our different backgrounds (and dare I say it, colour). It’s given me a great sense of pride in my country and its people, and a lot of hope for our future.

Anyway, I’ll be keeping this blog live until August this year (until I finish all my traveling), and then we’ll see what happens. Since no-one will be keeping it updated, please add a dash of salt and some of your own research to all the information you find here.

Good luck to everyone going to Korea for the first time, and sterkte for all those already in country! I’ll see you all back in SA!

TB

