Everday living in Korea (Part 2) – Breakfast

On my previous “Living in Korea” post, one reader commented about what she eats for breakfast. This is important stuff. This was of real concern to me before I arrived, because 1) I knew Koreans don’t really eat Western-style breakfasts, and 2) I was going to live pretty far away from places that sell Western food.

I generally eat cereal for breakfast, with some yoghurt for good measure. In the days before we flew here, I said some tearful farewells to my beloved Kelogg’s Cornflakes and Dairybelle yoghurt. But, to my utmost surprise and pleasure, the first supermarket I walked into after arriving in Korea had a whole shelf full of breakfast cereals. Cornflakes, Frosty Flakes, Fruit Loops – all sorts of stuff. Even some brand names I hadn’t seen before. Did you ever hear your parents talk about “Post Toasties”? Well, you can get them here (they’re cornflakes).

What about yoghurt? Well, that was another pleasant discovery. I haven’t seen a large variety of flavours and brands, but I’ve managed to get apricot, strawberry, pineapple, apple, and even plain yoghurt in Korea. But I’ve only managed to find small ones – about 200ml each.

Milk was another worry. I’d heard that it wasn’t widely available, though I had seen milk aplenty when I was in China. But my fears were unfounded. You can find milk at pretty much any convenience store or supermarket. And you get a choice of brands and everything. There’s even a selection of soy milk and one brand seemingly tailor-made for English teachers – ESL Milk.

Here’s an idea of how much this breakfast will set you back:

One big box (600g) of Kelogg’s Frosty Flakes: 4,400 won

One litre of milk: 2,000 won

One four-pack of 200ml yoghurts: 2,200 won

If you are in the mood for some bacon, egg and toast, you’ll have to be prepared to spend a bit more. Eggs are pretty cheap, but bacon is a bit hard to find, and pretty expensive when you do. I did find a pack the other day, and it cost about 4,000 won for 100 grams. But it did taste good!

Bread can be found everywhere, and you can find yourself a toaster in most major supermarkets. I just use a pan to make myself some toast. Easy (and cheap!).

One response to “Everday living in Korea (Part 2) – Breakfast

  1. that’s all very much as it si here by me – prices included. i am however dying to know of what and/or how they make their breads – it’s got a sweet papery undertaste – i keep imagining it’s neutralised fishbone flour – something to ‘stretch’ the basic flour with – because my friend warned me before i came and at first it did no seem such a big deal – but ooo – i am craving for a fresh cloudy stringy fluffy ‘oily’? south african government bread WITH A CRISPY crust – i am a bread fanatic you see – so i suffer a little in that department – but the toast version toasted is as you say easy and available – they also have a mealie and milk bread – but it did not do the thing for me – sweetcorn, the not creamy version is also available by the way … and rooiworsies/viennas is also available – but alas – also with that ‘thin’ taste – koreans are not hot on salt … i take my own salt and black pepper to school lunch which helps a lot with that ‘thin’ taste problem! i think korean food must be great for anybody neeing a diet – because you can eat a lot, as i am sometimes aston ished to see done by some of the most petite women teachers, and they stay slim and fine!!!

Leave a Reply

